College Football Playoff Communications

IRVING, Texas – The College Football Playoff (CFP) was named Sports Event of the Year last night by Street & Smith’s Sports Business Journal.  The announcement was made during an event in New York City.

Bill Hancock, executive director of the CFP, accepted the award in front of a crowd of more than 800 people.

“This award belongs to the university presidents and conference commissioners who worked collegially and with courage and foresight to create the playoff,” said Hancock.  “The College Football Playoff belongs to everyone.  We wanted folks to be able to touch this first one and to experience it.  This award is a tribute to the great game of college football—to its passion, its traditions, the way people love their teams and count the days until the next season begins.  College football is a national treasure.”

The inaugural year of the College Football Playoff achieved tremendous success while preserving the best regular season in sports and protecting America’s rich bowl tradition.  The playoff semifinals and national championship game, broadcast by ESPN, were the most-watched events in cable television history.

Other nominees in the category included the International Champions Cup, MLB All-Star Game, U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open (golf), the NBA All-Star Game and Super Bowl XLIX.

For more information about the College Football Playoff, visit


About the College Football Playoff
The College Football Playoff is a three-game, four-team event to decide the national championship. Semifinal games rotate annually among the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Goodyear Cotton Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual and Fiesta Bowl. Semifinal games for the 2015-16 season will take place on December 31, 2015 at the Capital One Orange Bowl and the Goodyear Cotton Bowl. The championship game will beJanuary 11, 2016, in Glendale, Arizona.

Bill Hancock, Executive Director @cfbplayoff

Share This Story:

Related Content