College Football Playoff Communications
IRVING, Texas – Bill Hancock, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff (CFP), today announced that University of Oregon Athletics Director Rob Mullens will serve as the third chair of the CFP Selection Committee.

Texas Tech University Director of Athletics Kirby Hocutt will complete his term as current chair February 1.

“We are delighted that Rob will be stepping into this role,” Hancock said. “He is an experienced committee member, extremely passionate about college football, detail-oriented and brings a high level of energy that is perfectly suited to chairing the committee.”

Mullens has been at Oregon since 2010.

He graduated with a bachelor’s degree in business administration from West Virginia University in 1991 and received his master’s degree in sports management in 1993. After a brief stint working as an accountant for Ernst & Young, he quickly moved up through the ranks in athletic administration, with stops at the University of Miami, Fla. (1994-96), University of Maryland (1996-2002) and University of Kentucky (2002-2010).

As chairman, Mullens will set the selection committee’s agenda, run its meetings and serve as the spokesman for the committee along with Hancock.

“College football plays a vital role in intercollegiate athletics, and it is an honor to continue to serve on the CFP Selection Committee,” said Mullens. “I look forward to partnering with the other committee members and the staff to build on the strong foundation which has been created in the first four years of the CFP.”

Mullens follows Jeff Long (2014 and 2015) and Hocutt (2016 and 2017) as chair of the selection committee.

Share This Story:

Related Content