College Football Playoff Semifinals are Set

Written by Brett Korpi


The College Football Playoff Committee released their rankings of the Top 4 teams in the country that will compete in the CFP semifinals, No. 1 Clemson, No. 2 Oklahoma, No. 3 Georgia and No. 4 Alabama.

ACC Champion Clemson will meet Alabama for the third year in a row in the CFP. The past two seasons they have met in the CFP Championship with the Tigers winning their first national title in 35 years 35-31 win against the Crimson Tide last year. The third game in the trilogy will be played in the Sugar Bowl on New Year’s Day.

Oklahoma and Georgia will meet for the first time ever. The Big 12 Champion Sooners will be playing in their second playoff and while SEC Champion Bulldogs are in the CFP for the first time the semifinal matchup will be played New Year’s Day in the Rose Bowl.

Alabama and Georgia are the first teams from the same conference to make the CFP since its inception in 2014.

B1G Champion Ohio State and runner-up Wisconsin were ranked 5 and 6 respectively by the committee. It is the first time a team for the conference has be left out of the CFP.

The College Football Playoff National Championship will be played 8:00 p.m. ET, Jan. 8, at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, GA.

Share This Story:

Related Content