Justin Williams captured 1st place at the SECA Creates 2017 Outlaw Showdown in Charlotte

Written By: Kyle Newman
(Photo Credit: SaJorden Miller The SkyBoat)

(Charlotte, NC) ​It was a wild night for the SECA Creates – Outlaw Showdown at the Charlotte Dirt Track filled with racing, wrecks, and tempers flaring. For those who don’t know how a night of racing goes in this series, it’s a little complicated; it starts with 3 sessions of Hotlaps (practice laps to get the cars prepped and ready for qualifying) Hotlaps are followed by qualifying which features 6 car groups until all have qualified. After all the cars have taken time the top 10 qualifiers move directly to the A-Main Event, all the others are split even and odd numbers and put into the B-Mains. Next is the B-Main races (2) where the top 6 finishers in each race are then moved into the A-Main, which is the final race of the evening.

B-Main #1 was a very fast and clean race that featured 12 cars. Dillion Brown in the #6 car led all the laps and punched his ticket into the main event. He was followed by #17 Logan Roberson, #F1 Peyton Freeman, #08 Layton Sullivan, #10 Spencer Apple and the of #5 Travis Steele who secured the last transfer spot in the first B-Main. After the first race had concluded, they lined up for B-Main #2 where tempers flared, but cooler heads prevailed. The #444 of Teddy Musgrave Jr was parked after retaliating against the #77 Brian Connor for a racing incident in which the #444 was spun out, and his chances of transferring were diminished. Rambo Franklin and his #2F car held the lead and won B-Main #2 followed by #1 Mark Parks, #44 John Ruggiero, #00 Carson Ferguson, #89 Pat Lindsay, and the #77 of Brian Connor. These twelve drivers joined the top 10 qualifiers in the A-Main.

In the A-Main, Justin Williams was on the pole and lead the field to the green flag for the 25-lap finale. In the main event the fastest way around the track was the bottom, and if a driver was moved up out of the way, he was going backward. Pat Lindsay’s #89 brought out the caution on lap 10 after having mechanical issues which brought his night to an end. On the ensuing restart, Mark Parks’ #1 was spun out entering turn 1 bringing out the caution for the second time on lap 10 (only green flag laps count in dirt racing) bunching the field up once again. Justin Williams seemed to have the strongest car throughout the night, but Thomas Robinson and his #78 made it interesting as he passed Williams, but Williams pulled the crossover on Robinson taking the lead right back and never looking back on his way to the win. Final results 1st place the #2 Justin Williams, followed by the #78 Thomas Robinson in 2nd and the # T1 of Timbo Mangum finished 3rd.

Share This Story:

Related Content