Matt Kenseth Wins Pole for 2018 NASCAR Monster Energy All-Star Race

Written by Adrian Beecher

Concord, NC – For qualifying in the 2018 NASCAR Monster Enegery Cup Series All-Star Race, each driver was required to take two laps, then make a pitstop and finish the lap. Most of the drivers had to take qualifying sessions without having any practice time due to rain earlier in the day shortening practice sessions.

In qualifying, Jamie McMurray was the fastest, running a 2:06.595 qualifying session. However, a lugnut penalty on the stop would result in a five-second penalty, which Put Rickey Stenhouse on the point.

Then came Matt Kenseth’s turn at qualifying, and he did not miss a beat. The 46-year-old veteran ran a 2:07.644 session. This would hold through the end of qualifying.

You can watch the 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race on FS1 on Saturday, May 18th at 8:00 pm EST, weather pending.

Here is the starting lineup for the All-Star race minus the three drivers from the open race that will be added as well as the fan-voted driver.

1. Matt Kenseth
2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
3. Clint Bowyer
4. Kevin Harvick
5. Martin Truex Jr.
6. Ryan Blaney
7. Kyle Busch
8. Brad Keselowski
9. Austin Dillon
10. Joey Logano
11. Jimmie Johnson
12. Jamie McMurray
13. Ryan Newman
14. Denny Hamlin
15. Kurt Busch
16. Kasey Kahne
17. Kyle Larson

Share This Story:

Related Content