Previewing the 2020 NFL Pro Bowl

ORLANDO, Fla. – Lamar Jackson, Deshaun Watson and… Ryan Tannehill? Two of those three names you might have expected, but Ryan Tannehill was probably not a name you expected to read in the three AFC Pro Bowl quarterbacks. Tannehill now residing in Music City with the Titans, had a 9-4 record before taking a fifth loss on the season in the AFC Championship game to the Tennessee Titans, 35-24. Tannehill had a 70.3% completion percentage, 2742 yards, 22 TD’s and 6 INT’s.

Tannehill isn’t the only Titan that made the Pro Bowl roster this year. Defensive End, Jurrell Casey, and Punter, Brett Kern, also booked a trip to Orlando. 

The three quarterbacks on the NFC side are Russell Wilson, Drew Brees and Kirk Cousins. Cousins replaced Green Bay quarterback, Aaron Rodgers due to injury. This is the second instance that Cousins has replaced Rodgers in the Pro Bowl. The first instance happening 3 years ago in 2017 when Cousins was still playing in D.C. for the Washington Redskins. 

The NFL Officiating Twitter account (@NFLOfficating Tweet) tweeted this picture out on January 21st, showing new rules that will be introduced into the game this year and potentially be tested out for regular-season games in the coming years. 

The first rule listed will allow teams to have a chance at a new possession after a successful field goal or try attempt.  Team A can elect to give Team B the ball at Team B’s 25-yard line or with the insertion of this new rule, keep the ball at their own 25-yard line with a 4th-and-15 right away. This could help a team have a much easier chance at getting back in a game or possibly putting a game-winning drive together in the last few minutes of a half or the game just after scoring.

The second ruled that was included in the tweet seemed to just be a clarification of what a false start for a flexed wide receiver would and would not be. 

365 days ago in the same state, same city and same stadium, the AFC led by Los Angeles Chargers head coach, Anthony Lynn, absolutely dominated the lackluster NFC offense under former Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett (makes sense, right?).  The final score ended up being 26-7 with the starting quarterback for the AFC being Kansas City Chiefs quarterback, Patrick Mahomes who brought home the competition’s offensive MVP trophy. The defensive MVP was picked off by New York Jets Strong Safety, Jamal Adams who resides in the American Football Conference along with Mahomes.

The NFC will look to bounce back this year and show more of an offensive presence in the game under Seattle Seahawks head coach, Pete Carroll. The AFC will look to overshadow the NFC’s will to win with Lamar Jackson and Deshaun Watson’s modern mobile quarterback play. 

Kickoff for the 2020 Pro Bowl is at 3:00 PM ET from Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida, and will be aired on ESPN, ESPN Deportes, Disney XD and ABC.

Written by Zach Bartkus

Share This Story:

Related Content

Atlanta Falcons
Greg Atkins

Falcons Unveil 2023 Schedule

FLOWERY BRANCH, Ga. —  The Falcons joined the rest of the National Football League in unveiling the entirety of its 2023 schedule on Thursday evening.

Read More »